Number Theory Meeting

On Ramanujan’s 135th birth year
[Feb 27 to Mar 01, 2023 at IIT Kanpur]

Generously supported by VIBHA, C3i Hub and Ministry of Culture



To commemorate the 135th birth year of Srinivasa Ramanujan, IIT KanpurC3i Hub, VIBHA, and the Ministry of Culture, Government of India will be organising an event from 27 Feb to 01 Mar 2023 at IIT Kanpur in the broad theme of number theory, and its application in computational problems.

Some of the leading experts in the relevant areas will be present in this meeting to discuss their research work.

Young researchers including some PhD students will also be present in this event.

Download the poster

    Page: /


Prof. U K Anandavardhanan, IIT Bombay 

Prof. Eknath Ghate, TIFR

Prof. Sanoli Gun, IMSc

Prof. Mahesh Kakde, IISc

Prof. Kiran S Kedlaya, UCSD

Prof. Mrinal Kumar, IIT Bombay/TIFR

Prof. V Kumar Murty, University of Toronto

Prof. Rafael Oliveira, University of Waterloo

Prof. C S Rajan, Ashoka University/TIFR

Prof. Michel Waldschmidt, Sorbonne University


Feb 28

Time Title Speaker
09:15 - 09:30 Welcome Prof. Abhay Karandikar
09:30 - 10:30 On the Landau Ramanujan constant: sums of two squares, families of binary forms Prof. Michel Waldschmidt
10:30 - 11:00 Tea
11:00 - 12:00 To be given Prof. Mahesh Kakde
12:00 - 12:15 Tea
12:15 - 13:15 Fast multivariate multipoint evaluation Prof. Mrinal Kumar
13:15 - 15:00 Break
15:00 - 16:00 Zeta functions of algebraic varieties: theory and algorithms Prof. Kiran S Kedlaya
16:00 - 16:30 Tea
16:30 - 17:30 To be given Prof. C S Rajan

Mar 01

Time Title Speaker
09:30 - 10:30 To be given Prof. V Kumar Murty
10:30 - 11:00 Tea
11:00 - 12:00 To be given Prof. U K Anandavardhanan
12:00 - 12:15 Tea
12:15 - 13:15 To be given Prof. Rafael Oliveira
13:15 - 15:00 Break
15:00 - 16:00 Galois representations Prof. Eknath Ghate
16:00 - 16:30 Tea
16:30 - 17:30 To be given Prof. Sanoli Gun
17:30 - 17:40 Vote of thanks Prof. Manindra Agrawal
19:30 Dinner

Titles and their abstracts

Feb 27 VIBHA program

Content to be provided

Student/postdoc Registration

Interested students and postdocs can send their details to with the subject line “Application for Participation: Last Name”.

Please mention in your email the following:

  • Full Name and gender
  • Email ID and institute
  • Course of study: BS/BTech/MS/Mtech/PhD/Postdoc/other (specify)
  • A few sentences on the relevance of this meeting to you.

We have a limited number of seats and confirmation will be sent to selected candidates, who will also receive some financial support.

Deadline — 23:59, 29 January, 2023

Deadline for registration has passed. However, IITK students can register before 23:59, Feb 18.

Confirmation will be sent to selected students.


Prof. Abhay Karandikar, Director IITK

Prof. Manindra Agrawal, CSE IITK and Project Director C3i Hub

Dr. Tanima Hajra, CEO C3i Hub

Prof. Nitin Saxena, CSE IITK

Prof. Sunil K Mishra, VIBHA

Dr. Somnath Jha, MATHS IITK

Dr. Sudhanshu Shekhar, MATHS IITK